Community Theatre - Northern Register

Northern Register by Community Theatre 

Released only a few days ago, "Northern Register" is one of the most exciting records I've seen come to life this past year in Canadian music.

In the fall of 2013, two of Canada's finest independent record labels (Headless Owl Records and You've Changed Records) came together to send a group of their artists to Whitehorse, YK to collaborate for two shows in Dawson City and Whitehorse. What we found out after these shows (titled "The Cost of Doing Business") was that while they were up there, they had also recorded an album with Yukon-based producer Jordy Walker (the Burning Hell, Declan O'Donovan, Old Cabin, & more). 

The artists that form this so called Canadian supergroup are Mathias Kom (the Burning Hell), Kyle Cashen (Old Time Machine), Chris Adeney (Wax Mannequin), Michael Feurstack (formerly known as Snailhouse), Steve Lambke (Baby Eagle), Ian Kehoe (Marine Dreams), Jim Kipatrick (Shotgun Jimmie), Richard Laviolette, and Colleen Collins and David Trenaman (Construction & Destruction). 

It's a crazy album indeed. But I think it's exactly what we needed from Headless Owl and You've Changed. It's a triumphant statement in collaborative music. It's something that grabs you, takes your lunch money, and then takes you to a small cabin in the Yukon. The very one that these songs were pieced together in possibly. From a feeling of nautical adventure and boyish wonder on "The Quickening" to the somehow similar feeling of drinking beers in your garage on "Snailhouse". This album wants to take you places and I hope you let it. 

Nice, Nice, Very Nice 

Recommended or fans of: 
Shotgun Jimmie, Baby Eagle, Michael Feurstack, the Burning Hell, Marine Dreams